- Explore -


Considering an English Major? It May Be For You, If You Want To… teach English in high school be a journalist or editor be a poet or novelist be a lawyer teach English at a college or university have a strong liberal arts education

BAHonors | Accelerated BA to MATeaching Licensure

Learn More


Welcome to graduate studies in English at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Our department offers a full range of graduate programs, including the Master of Arts, the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing, and the Doctor of Philosophy.

MAPhD | MFAFunding

Learn More


The Department of English boasts twenty-six Tenure-line Faculty, and six Academic Professional Faculty working in a wide range of research interests. For more information about various Faculty, please visit their individual profile pages, and peruse the Faculty Bookshelf.

Faculty Bookshelf

Learn More

Office Hours

The English Department Office will operate under normal hours beginning 08/17/2020.  To adhere to social distancing and University Covid-19 policies, virtual appoints are encouraged and face-to-face may be available with appointment.  Drop in-visits are not available. To arrange an appointment, please contact the person you need and schedule a time for your visit.  If you are unsure with whom you need to speak, send a general email outlining your question to English@uncg.edu  and we will forward your email to the appropriate person.   Face masks are required for all visitors and all offices have a maximum occupancy that cannot be exceeded. Please be patient as we adjust to this new reality. Keeping all students, staff, and faculty healthy is our primary goal.

Upcoming Events

English Majors Fair
October 18, 2021 | 11:30-1:30 | Outside, tent behind MHRA

Come meet your professors! Drop by for snacks, giveaways, and conversations!



In the News

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Rifkin!

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Rifkin on his recently published book, “Speaking for the People: Native Writing and the Question of […]

Posted on October 4, 2021

Alum Spotlight: Matthew Johnson

Alum Spotlight: Matthew Johnson (MA) will be one of four featured readers for New York Quarterly’s upcoming reading, Oct. 18 […]

Posted on October 4, 2021

Alum Spotlight: Alexander “Sandy” Hartwiger

English Alum Dr. Alexander “Sandy” Hartwiger is this year’s recipient of the Dr. Robert A. Martin Outstanding First-Year Advocate Award! […]

Posted on September 22, 2021


- Meet Us -

Our Alumni

Dr. KT Leuschen

Kathleen T. Leuschen is a Lecturer in English in the Writing Program at Emory University. Her research and teaching interests include rhetorical theory, literacy studies, public and activist writing, feminist historiography, community-engaged learning, and public memory. Her scholarship on visual rhetoric, feminist historiography, and public memory has been published in Rhetoric Review and is also forthcoming in two edited collections: Ethics and Representation in Feminist Rhetorical Inquiry and Expansive Reflections: Returning to the Feminisms of the 1970s. 


College Writing Program

HHRA Building

Serving most of the university’s students through three core classes, the College Writing Program at UNCG teaches writing through an awareness of rhetoric so that students can craft their arguments with a specific audience, situation, and purpose in mind.

Did You Know?

  • The English major features small classes of students working closely with highly accomplished faculty to develop analytical and writing skills. Students can expect to be challenged, stretched, trained, and informed (as well as amused, moved, amazed, maybe even transformed). The English major allows flexible plans of study appropriate for different career aspirations.
  • The English Department awarded over $65,000 in scholarships to our undergraduate majors for Academic Year 2019-20
  • Our Graduate students received: $507,000 in tuition remission, $777,000 in stipends, and $50,000 in Grants, Fellowships, and Minerva Scholarships. For a grand total of $1,334,000 in financial assistance!