Undergraduate Scholarships | Department of English

Undergraduate Scholarships

The Department has one common application and recommendation form for all scholarships. Announcements for the opening of the scholarship search are made in March. The deadline is usually in mid April.

The English Department has several scholarships available for our majors:

Ethel Stephens Arnett Scholarship

The Arnett Scholarship was established in 1981 by Georgia Arnett Bonds and Dorothy Arnett Dixon in honor of their mother. It is awarded each year to a sophomore, junior, or senior majoring in History or English. Merit, with a 3.0 overall academic average, is a major consideration.

Ruth McKaughan & W. Bryan Carter Scholarship

The Carter scholarship is the department’s most prestigious scholarship. It is awarded annually to promising female English majors who are enrolled full-time, residents of North Carolina, have evidence of academic promise, do not possess a campus parking sticker, and demonstrate financial need.

Amy M. Charles Memorial Scholarship

The Amy M. Charles Memorial Scholarship was established in 1988 in memory of Dr. Charles’ parents, Harry Howard Charles and Marie Berbach Charles. Dr. Charles spent nearly 30 years as a Professor of English. It is awarded on the basis of merit to a graduate or undergraduate student majoring in English. Consideration may be given to financial need.

Cloninger-Stout Family Scholarship

The Cloninger-Stout Family Scholarship, established in 2007, honors the memory of Helen Boren Cloninger Kiser, who attended UNCG. Preference will be given to a graduate student in English, although undergraduate students majoring in English may also be considered. Consideration is given to financial need.

Mr. & Mrs. Alexander B. Dusenbury Scholarship

The Dusenbury Scholarship was established in 1983 by an anonymous donor. It is awarded to undergraduates Business or English majors on the basis of need, academic achievement, and promise of leadership.

Elizabeth Robinson Fort Scholarship

Katherine Robinson Everett, Class of 1913, established this fund in 1983, as a memorial to her sister. It is awarded to a full-time undergraduate student in the English Department on the basis of academic promise or ability.

Leonard B. Hurley Memorial Scholarship

This memorial fund was established by friends of Dr. Leonard B. Hurley, who for 39 years was a member of the University faculty and for 16 of those was head of the English Department. It is awarded annually to a senior majoring in English.

Jackson-Loving-Gibson Scholarship

Grave Evelyn Loving Gibson, Class of 1940, established this fund. It provides awards to students majoring in English who are talented writers and desire to pursue careers in writing. The creative writing faculty of the English Department chooses recipients.

Emmett J. and Clara C. King Scholarship

Established by Robert W. Keefe in 2006 in honor of his late wife Clara Delores King and her desire to honor her parents, Emmett J. and Clara C. King. The Emmett J. and Clara C. King Scholarship is awarded on the basis of financial need to a junior or senior majoring in English. Recipients must have at least a 3.0 G.P.A. in English and at least a 2.5 cumulative G.P.A.

Amon Liner Poetry Award

Dr. E. D. Shackelford established this fund in 1976. This award goes to a student poet, majoring in English, whose work has been or will be published by The Greensboro Review.

Winfield Scholarship

Established by Miss Martha Elizabeth Winfield, for many years a professor in English at UNCG, the Winfield is awarded to a junior or senior English major with financial need and academic promise.


Dr. Karen Weyler
Director of Undergraduate Studies