PhD Placement | Department of English

PhD Placement

Our doctorates have been extraordinarily successful in finding academic employment.  Since 2006, the UNCG English Department has placed 82% of the students who have graduated from our doctoral program in tenure-track or other full-time positions.  This is far above the national average of 41.9% as determined by the MLA.

As our exceptional students prepare for the profession, they are aided not only by their individual work with faculty distinguished in their fields, but by the department’s Graduate Placement Committee, comprised of a group of faculty who provide year-round workshops and consultations on professionalization, applications, and interview preparation.

Following is a list of the tenure-track or other full-time jobs that our graduates have accepted since 2006.  Additional information about placements prior to 2006 is included at the bottom of the page.


2019 Graduates:

Emily Dolive                    Baylor University (Postdoctoral Fellowship)

Jessica Ward                     Mercy College, New York City (Assistant Professor)


2018 Graduates:

Alicia Beeson                   West Virginia University at Parkersburg (Assistant Professor)

Crystal Matey                   University of North Georgia (Assistant Professor)


2017 Graduates:

Brenta Blevins                 University of Mary Washington (Assistant Professor)

Lilly Berberyan                Northwestern State Univ. of Louisiana (Assistant Professor)

Meghan McGuire             University of Lynchburg (Assistant Professor)


2016 Graduates:

Michael Bedsole              Caldwell Academy, Greensboro (Rhetoric Humanities Instructor)

Matt Carter                       UNC Greensboro (Assistant Director, Writing Center)

Melissa Ridley Elmes      Lindenwood University (Assistant Professor)

Kathleen Fowler              Surry Community College

Kathleen T. Leuschen      Emory University (Lecturer)

Chelsea Skelley                University of Miami (Lecturer)


2015 Graduates:

Mark Brumley                  Randolph Community College (Instructor)

Daniel Warren Burns       Elon University (Instructor)

Zachary Seth Laminack   Elon College (Assistant Professor)

Craig Morehead               Elon College (Assistant Professor)

Shana Scudder                 UNC Greensboro (Assistant Director, Writing Center)

Lauren Shook                   Texas Lutheran University (Assistant Professor)

Summar Celeste Sparks   Bentley University (Lecturer)


2014 Graduates:

Courtney Wooten             Stephen F. Austin State University (Writing Program Administrator)


2013 Graduates:

Jacob Babb                       Indiana University, Southeast (Assistant Professor)

Joe George                       University of North Carolina Greensboro (Lecturer)

Brandy Grabow               NC State Univ. (Coordinator, Writing & Speaking Tutorial Services)

Melissa Richard               High Point University (Instructor)


2012 Graduates:

Alan Benson                    University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Moussa Issifou                 North Carolina A&T (Lecturer and Student Success Coordinator)

Matt Mullins                    Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary

Brian Ray                         University of Nebraska, Kearney

David Rogers                   Philadelphia University

Belinda Walzer                Appalachian State University


2011 Graduates:

William Duffy                  Francis Marion University

Marty Griffin                   Johnson and Wales University (Charlotte)

Rae Ann Meriweather      Syracuse University (Professional Writing Instructor)

Tonya Hassell Ritola       University of California, Santa Cruz

Karen Summers               High Point University (Instructor)

Stephanie Womick           Elon University


2010 Graduates:

Robert Brandon          Cleveland State Comm. College (Dean, Humanities&Social Sciences)

Sandy Hartwiger           American University, Beirut

Evelyn Kelly                    Lenoir Community College (Associate Dean)

John Pell                          Whitworth University

Mary Beth Pennington     Old Dominion University (Lecturer)

Kristen Pond                    Baylor University

Kimberly Reigle              Mars Hill College (Assistant Professor)

Charles Tedder                 Metropolitan State University (MN)

Gregory Vance                 Randolph Community College


2009 Graduates:

Aaron Chandler                Stevenson University

Allison Davis                   Kennesaw State University

Sally Griffin                     Forestview High School

Michelle Johnson             Livingstone College

Dorothy Kuykendal         Kennesaw State University

Chiaki Takagi                  UNCG (Lecturer and Director of the Japanese Program)


2008 Graduates:

Todd Atchinson               UNCG (Assistant Director of CASA)

Tameka Carter                 NC A&T (Assistant Chair, Department of Liberal Studies)

Laura Linker                    High Point University (Assistant Professor)

Sara Littlejohn                 UNCG (Director of the Writing Center)

Elizabeth Renn                 Valencia Comm. College (Dean, Comm.&Developmental Studies)

Jennifer Rohrer-Walsh     Methodist University (NC)

Elizabeth Vogel               Arcadia University

Lisa Wenger Bro              Middle Georgia College

Elizabeth Wilkinson        University of St. Thomas (MN)


2007 Graduates:

Elizabeth Bir                    Fayetteville State University

Linda Gretton                   High Point University (Asst. Prof., Strategic Communication)

Katie Rose Guest-Pryal   UNC School of Law (Clinical Assistant Professor)

Michelle Jackson             West Mecklenburg High School

Rita Jones-Hyde               Massasoit Community College

Ashley Oliphant               Pfeiffer University (NC)

Bethany Perkins               Spartanburg Methodist College

Adrienne Phillips             Central Piedmont Community College

Shelby Smoak                  BioRX (Patient Advocate)

Joe Wagner                      Bowling Green State University, Firelands College


2006 Graduates:

Nicol Nixon Auguste       University of South Carolina at Lancaster

Joe Falocco                      Texas State University, San-Marcos

James Osborne                 Central Piedmont Community College

Lee Templeton                 North Carolina Wesleyan College


Prior to 2006, PhD graduates have found tenure-track or other permanent positions at such schools as Winthrop University, Johnson and Wales University (NC), University of Tennessee-Martin, University of Montevallo, Coastal Carolina University, University of New Mexico, Ball State University, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, Western Kentucky University, Meredith University, University of Montana, Virginia State University, Bridgewater State College, and Western Carolina University, among others.