

The Department of English

Spring Recognition Ceremony

6 May 2022

UNCG Auditorium, 2:00pm

Welcome

Scott Romine, Department Head

Recognition of Faculty and Staff

Opening Remarks

Undergraduate Honors ******** Sigma Tau Delta

Jazmin Bacilio Leia Eller Deijah Scales

Niesha Williams Cody Morris James Etling

Andrew Hachey Olivia Wood

Disciplinary Honors

Andrew Ainsworth Jason Haithcock Emily Lampkin

Samantha McDonald Jennifer Nelson Chrystal Rich

Christian Walker

International Honors

Andrew Ainsworth Cody Morris Jennifer Nelson

Deijah Scales Zachary Weaver Gabrielle Wilson

Katharine Smith Reynolds Scholarship

Jennifer Nelson

Student Excellence Award

Jennifer Nelson

Departmental Scholarships

Ruth McKaughan and W. Bryan Carter Scholarship

Jennifer Nelson Erica Gunter

Samantha Chimenge Samantha McDonald

Elizabeth Robinson Fort Scholarship

Michele Cantwell

Winfield Scholarship

Alyson MacDonald

Graduate Honors

English Department's Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

Meghan McGuire

Lilly Berberyan

College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant

Brenta Blevins

College of Arts and Sciences Bernard Dissertation Fellowship

Lilly Berberyan

Cloninger-Stout Family Scholarship

Brenta Blevins

Kathy Walker Phipps Graduate Award

Kathryn Murphy

Amon Liner Poetry Award

Kathryn Murphy

Nancy and David McAllister Scholarship

Nicole Stockberger

Fred Chappell Creative Writing Fellowship

Colby Cotton

Graduate Dean's Award

Kristin J. Yeats

Heather Wade

Nathan E. Golden

Alyssa M. Beckitt

Sink Fellowship

Jamie Lee Watson

Greensboro Graduate Scholars

Margaret L. Cooper

Rafael J. Gamero

Address to the Graduates

Dale Folwell, NC State Treasurer

Recognition of Graduates

Doctor of Philosophy Master of Arts Master of Fine Arts Bachelor's Degree

Interpreter:

Doctor of Philosophy

Benjamin Scott Compton
Jesse Louis Gay
Corrie Werner Greene^
Cynthia Damm McPeters
Jay Nitin Shelat
Jeremy Paul South
Jamie Lee Watson

Master of Arts

Abigail Army
Joshua Kyle Benjamin
Krisitna Bowers
Micaela Alexis Hunt
Shelby Elizabeth Joyce
Ian Alexander Mclaughlin
Cameron Leslie Ratliff
Elizabeth Padgett Robertson
Camille Alexandra Smith
Virginia Penelope Weaver

Master of Fine Arts

Glenn Richard Bertram
Emma Jane Boggs
Rebecca Lynn Ethridge
Samantha Arielrae McCormick
Gillian Rose Perry
Catherine Jeanette Robinson
Petra Eugenia Salazar
Sophie Antoinette Shaw
Angela Sue Winsor
Dominique Nicole Witter

Bachelor's Degree

Steven Anthony Abate^ Vanessa Alejos-Salazar Sydney Gabrielle Alexander Sarah Caitlyn Ashbaugh Kyara Semaj Bellamy

> Essence Jonae Blye Malaysia J Brooks

Mikayla Lea Brown

Candace Elizabeth Byrd^

Alyssa Gabrielle Cavalieri^

Ayana Deree Cholula

Robert L Clore

Erin Hunter Collins^

Jesse Regan Conner

Victoria Leigh Cox

Laurel Geneva Flom^

Makayla A Georgopoulos

Ashley Renee Loftin Greenfield

Hannah LeAnne Hall

Timothy Eugene Hammons

Megan Elizabeth Hoffman

Kawla Hteet

Tionna LeShae Humphrey

Sarah Rose Janicello^

Katherine Wylie Jordan

Olivia G King

Obadiah Sarah Elizabeth Kleist

Catherine Ann Kopf

Hannah C Larson

Molly E Lawler

Noemi Lopez

Rene Marzuk

Elizabeth Hope Maske^

Matthew Clark Mebane

Lorelai Camille Miller

Hannah May Mudget

Anastasia Nanthanolath

Monterrious Nixon^

Emma Louise Oliver

Rachel E Parks

Stella Blaize Pingitore

Nathaniel James Quigley
Quinton Miles Reid
Fox Santiago Rivera
Wallace Katherine McLean Robinson
Autumn Cheyenne Sharpe
Shannon Kayli Shope
Rachel Marie Swakopf
Devon Scott Taylor
Myo Thiha
Amanda Faith Thompson†
Tyler Neal Walker
Sydney R Walterman
Bria Elaine Walters^
Summer Brianna Drew Warren
Taylor Mckenna Williamson

- *** Summa cum laude
- ** Magna cum laude
 - * Cum laude
 - † August
 - ^December

Musicians



English Department Faculty & Staff

Heather Adams
Rhetoric and Composition
Risa Applegarth
Rhetoric and Composition
RJ Boutelle
African-American Literature
Ben Clarke
20th-Century British Literature
Anthony Cuda
20th-Century American Literature

Stuart Dischell Creative Writing, Poetry
Jennifer Feather Renaissance Literature
Christopher Hodgkins Renaissance Literature
Holly Goddard Jones Creative Writing, Fiction

Jennifer Keith British Literature 1660-1830/Editing Karen Kilcup 19th-Century American Literature

Christian Moraru Literary Theory/20th-Century American

Noelle Morrissette African-American Literature

Nancy Myers Rhetoric and Composition/Linguistics

Jennifer Park Renaissance Literature

Neelofer Qadir Postcolonial and World Literatures

Mark Rifkin U.S. Ethnic Literature

Scott Romine 20th-Century American Literature

Maria Sanchez U.S. Ethnic Literature
Amy N. Vines Medieval Literature

Anne Wallace 19th-Century British Literature

Karen Weyler Pre-Civil War American Literature

Stephen Yarbrough Rhetoric and Composition

Xhenet AliuCreative Writing, FictionTerry KennedyCreative Writing, Poetry

Gary Lim Medieval Literature

Derek Palacio Creative Writing, Fiction
Emilia Phillips Creative Writing, Poetry

Jeanie Reynolds English Education Vaughn Stewart Digital Act Studio

Gia Coturri-Sorenson Rhetoric and Composition

Andrew Saulters Visiting Assistant Professor

Jessica Van Rheenen Creative Writing, Poetry

Jennifer Whitaker Creative Writing, Poetry

Emeritus Faculty

Denise Baker Medieval Literature

Elizabeth Chiseri-Strater Rhetoric and Composition
Keith Cushman 20th-Century British/Drama
James Evans 18th-Century British Literature
Mary Ellis Gibson 19th-Century British Literature

Hephzibah Roskelly Rhetoric and Composition

Department Head Scott Romine Associate Department Head Anthony Cuda **Director of College Writing** Risa Applegarth **Director of Undergraduate Studies** Karen Weyler **Director of Graduate Studies** Jennifer Feather

Director of MFA Program Terry Kennedy

Associate Director of MFA Program Jessica Van Rheenen

Director of English Education Jeanie Revnolds Director of the Writing Center Jennifer Whitaker **Assistant Director of Writing Center** Gia Coturri Sorenson

Assistant to Department Head **Paul Cloninger** Assistant to Graduate Studies Alyson Everhart

Department Office Manager Noel Cox

> In memoriam: Dr. Charles Tisdale In memoriam: Dr. Walter Beale In memoriam: Rosemary Roberts

> > The University of North Carolina Greensboro Department of English

3143 Beverly Cooper Moore & Irene Mitchell Moore Humanities & Research Building

