2017 News & Awards

Amy Vines was recently elected to a 5-year term on the MLA Forum for Comparative Literature and Cultural Studies: Medieval.  

Jennifer Park's article "Discandying Cleopatra: Preserving Cleopatra's Infinite Variety in Shakespeare's Antony and Cleopatra" (Studies in Philology, 2016)  has been awarded honorable mention in the category of best article in the field of early modern women and gender.

UNCG English has four attending the 2017-18 Folger Institute Consortium, making this a banner year for our membership; Lecturer Matt Carter (2nd acceptance) joins Graduate Student Crystal Matey, Lecturer Lauren Shook (herself a Folger "Two-fer"), and Assistant Professor Jennifer Park in sitting down with their fields' leading scholars at the library housing the world's largest Shakespeare collection.

Over the summer, the English Graduate Student Association held its the first EGSA Book Drive! It was a great success and together, they were able to accumulate/purchase 144 books, which EGSA split between the two schools, Walter Page High School and Lucy Ragsdale High School.

The College Writing Program Committee is pleased to announce that the recipient of the inaugural Hephzibah Roskelly Pedagogical Innovation Award is Lauren Shook (PhD 2015, Lecturer).

The Graduate Studies Committee has awarded Alicia Beeson the Mildred Kates Dissertation Fellowship Award for 2017-2018.

Jessica Ward won the College of Arts and Sciences Bernard Dissertation Fellowship.

The winner of this year's Graduate Essay Contest is Kristin Yates for her essay, "The Enthymematic Function of Names and Pronouns in Animal Agriculture Discourse" written for Dr. Stephen Yarbrough's Fall 2016 course: ENG 746: Studies in Contemporary Rhetorical Theory. Kristin will receive an award in the amount of $200.

Terry Kennedy won the 2017 College of Arts and Sciences Award for Teaching Excellence.

Alicia Beeson and Lilly Berberyan received the English Department's 2017 Outstanding Teaching Award.

Luciana Lilley was the winner of the 2017 Graduate Research and Creativity Expo (Humanities).

Sara Taylor Boisonneau was selected as this year's nominee for the Graduate School's Outstanding Dissertation Award. She was nominated for her dissertation entitled “Other Americans: The Racialized and Anachronized Appalachian Mountaineer at the Turn of the Twentieth Century” and directed by Maria Sanchez.

Michelle Danner was selected as this year's nominee for the Graduate School's Outstanding Thesis Award. She was nominated for her two-paper thesis entitled “Game of Love: Chess and Agency in Chaucer’s Troilus and Criseyde” and “She will Suffer no Grates: Spatial Tensions in Cavendish’s The Convent of Pleasure” and co-directed by Michelle Dowd and Amy Vines.

Facebook Twitter
Connect with us!