2016 News & Awards

Kristy Crawley won the Keith Cushman Graduate Prize for Scholarly Publication for her article "Learning in Practice: Increasing the Number of Hybrid Course Offerings in Community Colleges" published in Teaching English in the Two-Year College.

Gia Coturri Sorenson won the James Evans Award for Graduate Service in recognition of her exceptional commitment to both fostering a dynamic English graduate student community and to superior integration of this community into the life of the Department.

The English Department's 2016 Critical Essay award was given to Hannah Carver for writing "Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A Critical Analysis."

The English Department's 2016 Student Research Essay award was given to Olivia Wood for writing "A Diamond and Tropic Gale: Reexamining Bisexuality in Mrs. Dalloway."

Sara Taylor Boissonneau has been selected as the 2016 recipient of the Department's Mildred Kates Dissertation Fellowship. She will receive an award of $1500. The Kates Fellowship is awarded annually to a PhD student to support completion of the dissertation during the academic year. The award is based on the overall strength of the dissertation, including the quality of writing, originality of concept, and the breadth and rigor of research, and the potential contribution of the dissertation to the field.

Noelle Morrissette received a 2016-17 H. D. Fellowship in American Literature with the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University for her Anne Spencer book project.

Noelle Morrissette was named Class of 1952 Distinguished Scholar for 2016-18. Focusing on the sound cultures of African Americans, she has planned an array of presentations, classes, contests, and symposia involving faculty from a wide variety of disciplines. Her programming will culminate in a conference drawing local, NC-based, and national scholars, creative artists, and educators, to be held in early December 2017.

Lilly Berberyan, PhD candidate, won the 2016-2017 College of Arts and Sciences Bernard Dissertation Fellowship.

The 2016 Graduate Essay Contest winner is Ben Compton for his essay, "Bioexceptionalism as National Identity" written for Dr. Ali Moore's Spring 2015 course: ENG 663: Postcolonial Literary and Cultural Theory.

Jennifer Whitaker won the 2016 Brittingham Prize in Poetry for her manuscript "The Blue Hour." The University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of English awards the Brittingham Prize to the best book-length manuscript selected by a nationally recognized poet. Denise Duhamel chose "The Blue Hour" for the 2016 prize winner.

Brenta Blevins, PhD candidate, received the Cloninger-Stout Family Scholarship for 2016-17.

Risa Applegarth won a 2016 CCCC Outstanding Book Award in the Monograph category for her book Rhetoric in American Anthropology: Gender, Genre, and Science. Risa will receive the award at the April 2016 CCCC Convention in Houston.

Risa Applegarth received the 2015-2016 Mary Settle Sharp Award for Teaching Excellence. Outstanding teaching and innovative teaching practices occur every day in classrooms across the UNCG campus. Yearly, the university solicits nominees as exemplars of this exceptional work to be considered for one of four Alumni Teaching Excellence Awards. UNCG presents an award to three full time UNCG faculty members; a fourth award, the Board of Governors Excellence in Teaching Award, is presented to a full time UNCG faculty member by the UNC system.

Meghan McGuire is the winner of the English Department's Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award for 2016.

Facebook Twitter
Connect with us!