2015 News & Awards

Risa Applegarth, Michelle Dowd, and Mark Rifkin have been elected as MLA Forum Exeutive Committe Members in their fields of interest. Applegarth- History and Theory of Composition, Dowd- Shakespeare, and Rifkin- 19th Century American. Each professor will serve a 5-year term. Check out all of those elected here.

Anthony Cuda's The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot: The Critical Edition, Vol. 2: The Perfect Critic (2014), co-edited with Ronald Schuchard, was awarded the 2015 Book Prize for an edition, anthology, or essay collection by the Modernist Studies Association. More information here.

Amy Vines' book, Women and Power in Medieval English Romance (Cambridge: D.S Brewer), won the award for Best First Book at the Southeastern Medieval Association.

Stacy Rice, PhD candidate, received the International Writing Center Association President's Future Leader Award at the IWCA annual conference held in Pittsburgh, PA, during October 2015.

Matthew Carter, PhD candidate, has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the Department's Mildred Kates Dissertation Fellowship. The Kates Fellowship is awarded annually to a PhD student to support completion of the dissertation during the academic year. The award is based on the overall strength of the dissertation, including the quality of writing, originality of concept, and the breadth and rigor of research, and the potential contribution of the dissertation to the field. Congratulations, Matt!

Christopher Hodgkins received, with Robert Whalen, a National Endowment for the Humanities 3-year Scholarly Editions Grant to produce George Herbert: Complete Prose, with Latin and Greek Verse. More information here.

Karen Kilcup has been named as the fourth editor of ESQ: A Journal of Nineteenth-Century American Literature and Culture. Established in 1954, ESQ is the oldest professional journal encompassing American literature and culture from the long nineteenth century.

Melissa Elmes won the College of Arts and Science's Bernard Dissertation Fellowship for 2015-2016. The award will help support the completion of her dissertation, "Feasts and Feasting as Rhetorical Acts and Cultural Artifacts in Medieval British Texts," directed by Dr. Amy Vines.

Fred Chappell, Professor Emeritus, was awarded The Charles Duncan McIver Medal. This medal demonstrates UNCG's highest honors of exemplary service to our community, state and nation.

The English Department's 2015 Critical Essay award was given to "Economies of Blood: The Body, Psychological Reflection, and Moral Debt in Titus Andronicus" written by Andrew Hachey for Jennifer Feather's ENG 303 course.

The English Department's 2015 Student Research Essay award was given to "Something Creative: Developing the Well-Rounded Writer in the High School English Classroom" written by Taylor Kane as her Senior Honors Thesis under Jeanie Reynold's supervision.

David Roderick is the 2014 Julie Suk Award Winner from Jacar Press. More information can be found here.

Melissa Elmes received a Student Excellence Award for 2015. She was the recipient of the Student Leader Award, and was one of only 10 graduate and undergraduate students on the entire campus to be so honored.

Anna Tysor, Administrative Assistant to Associate Head and Undergraduate Studies, is a winner of the CAS Staff Excellence Award for 2014-2015.

This year's Graduate Essay Contest winner is Matt Carter for his essay, "The Play of the Axe: Religious Pluralism and Arms in Gawain and the Green Knight," written for Dr. Amy Vines's Spring 2014 course: ENG 537: Middle English Literature.

Taylor Kane (English Undergraduate Major) has won a Student Excellence Award on behalf of the Honors Council of Lloyd International Honors College.

Melissa Elmes and Alison Johnson are the winners of the English Department's Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award for 2015.

Holly Goddard Jones received Transylvania University's Judy Gaines Young Book Award, which honors literature written by authors in the Appalachian Mountains region. See the article here.

Christian Moraru received a second Fulbright Award. In May 2015, he will travel to several universities in Romania to lecture on American literary history after transnationalism.

Facebook Twitter
Connect with us!