2013 News & Awards

The Digital Temple, Prof. Chris Hodgkins co-edited with Prof. Robert Whalen, named a Choice Outstanding Academic Title of 2013.

Fred Chappell, Professor Emeritus of English, selected as the 2013 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient presented by The Western North Carolina Historical Association and the Asheville History Center.

Moussa Issifou, 2012 Doctoral Graduate, was published in the October issue of The Journal of Pan African Studie. His article is titled, "Beyond the Language Debate in Postcolonial Literature: Linguistic Hybridity in Kojo B. Laing's Woman of the Aeroplanes."

Michelle Dowd, with co-editor Thomas Festa, wins 2013 Award for Best Teaching Edition from the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women for Early Modern Women on the Fall: An Anthology.

Brenta Blevins, Ph.D. candidate, selected as a Fellow for the Digital Rhetoric Collaborative through the University of Michigan Sweetland Center for Writing.

Lauren Shook, Ph.D. candidate in Renaissance/Early Modern literature, selected as participant in the Folger Institute colloquium “Constructing and Representing Authorship in Early Modern England."

Stuart Dischell, Professor of Poetry, begins two years as Class of 1952 Distinguished Professor, plans Randall Jarrell lecture series.

Andrew Pisano, Ph.D. candidate in American literature, awarded 2013-14 Mildred Kates Dissertation Fellowship.

Holly Goddard Jones, Assistant Professor of Fiction, selected as Bernard-Glickman Dean's Professor for 2013-14.

Ben Clarke, Assistant Professor of Post-1900 British Literature, and Michelle Dowd, Associate Professor of Renaissance/Early Modern Literature, receive Marc Friedlaender Faculty Excellence Awards for 2013-14.

Facebook Twitter
Connect with us!