PhD Placement

Our doctorates have been extraordinarily successful in finding academic employment.  Since 2006, the UNCG English Department has placed 81.9% of the students who have graduated from our doctoral program in tenure-track or other permanent positions.  This is far above the national average of 41.9% as determined by the MLA. 

Following is a list of the tenure-track or other permanent jobs that our graduates have accepted since 2006.  Additional information about placements prior to 2006 is included at the bottom of the page.

2017 Graduates:

Brenta Blevins University of Mary Washington (Assistant Professor, tenure-track)
Lilly Berberyan University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Lecturer)
Meghan McGuire University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Lecturer)

2016 Graduates:

Michael Bedsole University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Lecturer)
Matthew Carter University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Lecturer)
Melissa Elmes Lindenwood University (Assistant Professor)
Kathleen Fowler Surry Community College (Instructor)
Emily Hall University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Lecturer)
Alison Johnson University of Reno (Lecturer)
Kathleen T. Leuschen Emory University (Post-Doctoral)
Howard Melton North Carolina State University (Senior Lecturer)
Chelsea Skelley University of Miami (Lecturer)
Sally Smits Masten Western Governor's University

2015 Graduates:

Leah Milne University of Indianapolis (Assistant Professor, tenure-track)
Lauren Shook University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Lecturer)

2014 Graduates:

Andrew Pisano University of South Carolina Union (Assistant Professor, Writing Center Coordinator)
Courtney Wooten Stephen F. Austin State University (Writing Program Administrator, tenure-track)

2013 Graduates:

Jacob Babb Indiana University, Southeast (Assistant Professor)
Joe George University of North Carolina Greensboro (Lecturer)
Brandy Grabow North Carolina State University (Coordinator of Writing and Speaking Tutorial Services)
Melissa Richard High Point University (Instructor)

2012 Graduates:

Alan Benson University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Moussa Issifou North Carolina A&T (Lecturer (renewable) and Student Success Coordinator)
Matt Mullins   Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Brian Ray      University of Nebraska, Kearney
David Rogers Philadelphia University

2011 Graduates:

William Duffy  University of Memphis
Marty Griffin Johnson and Wales University (Charlotte)
Rae Ann Meriweather Syracuse University (Professional Writing Instructor)
Tonya Hassell Ritola   University of California, Santa Cruz
Karen Summers High Point University (Instructor)
Stephanie Womick Elon University

2010 Graduates:

Robert Brandon Cleveland State Community College (TN) (Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences)
Sandy Hartwiger American University, Beirut
Evelyn Kelly Lenoir Community College (Associate Dean)
John Pell   Whitworth University
Mary Beth Pennington Old Dominion University (Lecturer)
Kristen Pond  Baylor University
Kimberly Reigle  Mars Hill College
Charles Tedder   Metropolitan State University (MN)
Gregory Vance Randolph Community College

2009 Graduates:

Aaron Chandler Stevenson University
Allison Davis Kennesaw State University (full-time, permanent faculty)
Sally Griffin  Forestview High School
Michelle Johnson Livingstone College
Dorothy Kuykendal  Kennesaw State University (full-time, permanent faculty)
Chiaki Takagi UNCG (Lecturer (renewable) and Director of the Japanese Program)

2008 Graduates:

Todd Atchinson UNCG (Assistant Director of CASA)
Tameka Carter NC A&T (Assistant Chair, Department of Liberal Studies)
Laura Linker High Point University (Assistant Professor)
Sara Littlejohn UNCG (Director of the Writing Center)
Elizabeth Renn Valencia Community College (FL) (Dean of Communications/Developmental Studies)
Jennifer Rohrer-Walsh Methodist University (NC)
Elizabeth Vogel   Arcadia University
Lisa Wenger Bro   Middle Georgia College 
Elizabeth Wilkinson  University of St. Thomas (MN)

2007 Graduates:

Elizabeth Bir    Fayetteville State University
Linda Gretton High Point University (Assistant Professor of Strategic Communication)
Katie Rose Guest-Pryal UNC School of Law (Clinical Assistant Professor)
Michelle Jackson West Mecklenburg High School
Rita Jones-Hyde Massasoit Community College
Ashley Oliphant Pfeiffer University (NC)
Bethany Perkins  Spartanburg Methodist College
Adrienne Phillips   Central Piedmont Community College
Shelby Smoak   BioRX (Patient Advocate)
Joe Wagner   Bowling Green State University, Firelands College

2006 Graduates:

Nicol Nixon Auguste  University of South Carolina at Lancaster
Joe Falocco   Texas State University, San-Marcos
James Osborne  Central Piedmont Community College
Lee Templeton  North Carolina Wesleyan College

Prior to 2006, PhD graduates have found tenure-track or other permanent positions at such schools as Winthrop University, Johnson and Wales University (NC), University of Tennessee-Martin, University of Montevallo, Coastal Carolina University, University of New Mexico, Ball State University, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, Western Kentucky University, Meredith University, University of Montana, Virginia State University, Bridgewater State College, and Western Carolina University, among others.

Facebook Twitter
Connect with us!