UNCG College Writing Program Administrators

Director of College Writing: Dr. Risa Applegarth

Nancy Myers

Research and Teaching Interests

Dr. Applegarth's research and teaching interests include rhetoric, genre theory, public and community-engaged writing, and scientific and professional discourse. She comes to the College Writing Program with prior experience in faculty development, writing across the curriculum, writing center consulting, and long-term one-on-one work with multilingual writers, international students, and students with disabilities and traumatic brain injury. An affiliated faculty member with the WGS program, Dr. Applegarth also serves as coordinator for the Women in English mentoring and discussion series, as Advisory Board member for the Coalition of Feminist Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition, and as a member of the Forum on History and Theory of Composition for the MLA. Her teaching includes graduate and undergraduate courses related to academic, public, and autobiographical writing, genre theory, pedagogy, and women’s and gender studies.

Awards and Honors

  • Outstanding Book Award, CCCC, 2016
  • Mary Settle Sharp Award for Teaching Excellence, UNCG, 2016
  • College of Arts and Sciences Senior Teaching Award, UNCG, 2016
  • Linda Arnold Carlisle Faculty Research Grant, Women's and Gender Studies Program, UNCG, 2014-2015.
  • Article of the Year Award, Association for the Rhetoric of Science and Technology, 2013.
  • Marc Friedlaender Faculty Excellence Award, UNCG, 2011-2012
  • New Faculty Grant, UNCG, 2010-2011
  • Summer Excellence Research Award, UNCG, 2010
  • James Berlin Memorial Outstanding Dissertation Award, CCCC, 2010

Contact Information

Office: MHRA 3109
Office Phone: 336-334-3967
At UNCG Since: 2009
Full bio:

Assistant Director of College Writing: Stacy W. Rice

Amy Berrier

Stacy W. Rice specializes in rhetoric and composition with doctoral studies research emphases on mass media technology, war rhetoric, digital literacy, and multimedia/multimodal pedagogy. She currently serves as a graduate reviewer for The Peer Review. She has previously served as Assistant Director of UNCG’s Digital ACT Studio, Graduate Assistant Director of the UNCG Writing Center, English Graduate Student Association board member, and Graduate Student Association Senator. She won the 2012-2013 Hayes Excellence Fellowship, the 2015 President’s Future Leader Award from the International Writing Center Association, and the 2015 Graduate Student Association Service Challenge Initiative.

Contact Information

Office: MHRA 3313

Facebook Twitter
Connect with us!